The Crime Readers' Association

A fond farewell to MC Beaton

2nd January 2020

Barry Forshaw, author of Crime Fiction: A Reader’s Guide, on MC Beaton (aka Marion Chesney), the creator of Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth, who has died at 83. Although many crime novels fit more or...

‘The Abduction’ by A.A. Chaudhuri

16th December 2019

THE ABDUCTION by Alex Chaudhuri Hot on the heels of serial killer whodunnit, The Scribe, Kramer & Carver are back in new twisty thriller, The Abduction, published by Endeavour Media, 20 December 2...

Laid in Earth by Graham Brack

4th December 2019

Could this be Josef Slonský’s final case…? Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Jo Nesbo and Peter Robinson, and for those who like an unusual setting and more than a dash of wry humour. Why dig a new grav...

The Peter Lovesey First Crime Novel Contest

27th November 2019

Multiple CWA Dagger winner Peter Lovesey (including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2000) is launching a competition for new authors, along with his publisher, Soho Press. It is open to the world. A...

Case Files 41

8th November 2019

Case Files issue 41 – out soon! Case Files is an ezine that profiles new or forthcoming novels from members of the Crime Writers’ Association. Subscribing is free – and it lets you discover whic...

Daggers announced in glittering gala dinner evening

30th October 2019

M.W. Craven has won the CWA Gold Dagger for his novel The Puppet Show. The Daggers, which were announced (24 October) at a glittering awards ceremony at the Leonardo Royal Hotel, London, are regarded...

The Inaugural Capital Crime Event by Ali Karim

8th October 2019

It was a brave decision for thriller writer Adam Hamdy and his partner the literary agent David Headley (and bookseller) to start a new convention (Capital Crime) showcasing the crime and thriller gen...

Bloody Scotland on a Desert Island, by Caro Ramsay

8th October 2019

It was the Bloody Scotland crime writing festival one weekend in September.  The sun shone, the torchlight parade down from the castle was spectacular. The winner of the McIlvanney Prize Manda Scott s...

The Man That Got Away by Lynne Truss

26th September 2019

The latest comic caper from Lynne Truss is The Man That Got Away. It is July 1957 in Brighton, and the smartly dressed Brighton Belles parade along the promenade answering questions from holiday-maker...

The Art of Deception by Patrick Gooch

25th September 2019

In 1990, Time magazine reported that, in his lifetime, Camille Corot painted some eight hundred canvases, four thousand of which are to be found in the United States. So, how many fake Corots are ther...

Case Files 40

5th September 2019

Case Files issue 40 – out soon! Case Files is an ezine that profiles new or forthcoming novels from members of the Crime Writers’ Association. Subscribing is free – and it lets you discover whic...

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.