The Crime Readers' Association

Short story writing – by Alex Chaudhuri

27th April 2020

 May 1 sees the publication of a thrilling new collection of crime stories by ten of indie publisher Lume Books’ (formerly Endeavour Media) best crime writers. The anthology, Given in Evidence, featur...

Crime Writers in Residence

17th April 2020

During the Covid-19 crisis authors will not have the usual opportunities to promote their books at public events. Festivals, readings and launches have been cancelled – including all of the events sch...

Coronavirus and Creativity, by Antony Johnston

30th March 2020

‘Self-isolate? You mean stay indoors, don’t leave the house, and don’t socialise with anyone? Why, I’ve been practising for this my whole life!’ Every author has cracked some form of this joke over th...

Fear Not the Details … by Paul Gitsham

25th March 2020

One of the scariest things about writing contemporary police procedurals is the attention to detail that is necessary. To write a modern police investigation that feels authentic requires some insight...

Murder game ideas for these difficult times

25th March 2020

Reading is of course a fabulous way to pass the time in this period of social isolation.  But when all you crave is social contact – is it possible to still get the thrill of jointly solving a murder...

Eating the Dead: the Parsees of India by Vaseem Khan

25th March 2020

The fifth novel in the Baby Ganesh Agency series, Bad Day at the Vulture Club, sees my protagonist, Inspector Chopra investigating the murder of a wealthy Parsee in India’s city of dreams – Mumbai. Pa...

Tiller Thrillers by Andy Griffee

25th March 2020

Just when you thought it was safe to go out on a canal, another Tiller-Thriller comes along. At a time of plague and pestilence it is tempting to think that a peaceful cruise to remote and isolated lo...

Judging a Book by Its Cover, by Pauline Rowson

18th February 2020

Pauline is author of the DI Andy Horton crime series (14); Art Marvik mystery thrillers (3) and the 1950 set mystery Death in the Cove, the first in the Inspector Ryga series.   Book covers are a...

A fond farewell to MC Beaton

2nd January 2020

Barry Forshaw, author of Crime Fiction: A Reader’s Guide, on MC Beaton (aka Marion Chesney), the creator of Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth, who has died at 83. Although many crime novels fit more or...

‘The Abduction’ by A.A. Chaudhuri

16th December 2019

THE ABDUCTION by Alex Chaudhuri Hot on the heels of serial killer whodunnit, The Scribe, Kramer & Carver are back in new twisty thriller, The Abduction, published by Endeavour Media, 20 December 2...

Laid in Earth by Graham Brack

4th December 2019

Could this be Josef Slonský’s final case…? Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Jo Nesbo and Peter Robinson, and for those who like an unusual setting and more than a dash of wry humour. Why dig a new grav...

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.