The Crime Readers' Association

Coronavirus and Creativity, by Antony Johnston

30th March 2020

‘Self-isolate? You mean stay indoors, don’t leave the house, and don’t socialise with anyone? Why, I’ve been practising for this my whole life!’ Every author has cracked some form of this joke over th...

Judging a Book by Its Cover, by Pauline Rowson

18th February 2020

Pauline is author of the DI Andy Horton crime series (14); Art Marvik mystery thrillers (3) and the 1950 set mystery Death in the Cove, the first in the Inspector Ryga series.   Book covers are a...

Laid in Earth by Graham Brack

4th December 2019

Could this be Josef Slonský’s final case…? Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Jo Nesbo and Peter Robinson, and for those who like an unusual setting and more than a dash of wry humour. Why dig a new grav...

Daggers announced in glittering gala dinner evening

30th October 2019

M.W. Craven has won the CWA Gold Dagger for his novel The Puppet Show. The Daggers, which were announced (24 October) at a glittering awards ceremony at the Leonardo Royal Hotel, London, are regarded...

The Inaugural Capital Crime Event by Ali Karim

8th October 2019

It was a brave decision for thriller writer Adam Hamdy and his partner the literary agent David Headley (and bookseller) to start a new convention (Capital Crime) showcasing the crime and thriller gen...

Bloody Scotland on a Desert Island, by Caro Ramsay

8th October 2019

It was the Bloody Scotland crime writing festival one weekend in September.  The sun shone, the torchlight parade down from the castle was spectacular. The winner of the McIlvanney Prize Manda Scott s...

The Man That Got Away by Lynne Truss

26th September 2019

The latest comic caper from Lynne Truss is The Man That Got Away. It is July 1957 in Brighton, and the smartly dressed Brighton Belles parade along the promenade answering questions from holiday-maker...

The Art of Deception by Patrick Gooch

25th September 2019

In 1990, Time magazine reported that, in his lifetime, Camille Corot painted some eight hundred canvases, four thousand of which are to be found in the United States. So, how many fake Corots are ther...

Wales as a Setting for Crime Fiction by Cathy Ace

20th August 2019

“It’s not all rugby, sheep and singing…” was the title used for a panel in which I participated at this year’s CrimeFest convention (held in Bristol in May) and it’s certainly true that not all crime...

The Exphoria Code by Antony Johnston

20th August 2019

New Spies. New Rules. From the Creator of Atomic Blonde! MI6 cyber-analyst Brigitte Sharp has spent three years deskbound and in therapy, traumatised after her very first field op went badly wrong and...

CWA Dagger Shortlists 2019 Announced

25th July 2019

The author behind one of the biggest shows on TV, a world renowned forensic anthropologist and the son of ‘the godfather of tartan noir’ have been shortlisted for the prestigious CWA Dagger awards. Th...

A A Chaudhuri – The Scribe

24th June 2019

Making it as a lawyer has always been a cutthroat business. In a dark, creepy legal thriller, metaphor becomes reality – by A A Chaudhuri In The Scribe, published 1st July, a killer is targeting forme...

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.