The Crime Readers' Association

Music of the Night – CWA short story anthology

1st March 2022

Music of the Night is the anthology of original short stories contributed by Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) members, with music as the connecting theme. Whether it’s the swaying notes of classical or the beat of rock ‘n’ roll, music gets to the heart of everything and has been brilliant inspiration for these stories. Author and editor Martin Edwards said: ‘The stories are an eclectic mix, which reflects the wide range of tastes in music, and within the crime genre itself.’

The 25 stories include four by CWA Diamond Dagger winners – the highest honour in UK crime writing – alongside nine authors who have never previously contributed to a CWA anthology. The Diamond Dagger authors whose stories are included in the collection are Catherine Aird, Peter Lovesey, Andrew Taylor, as well as Martin Edwards, who received the Diamond Dagger in 2020.

Maxim Jakubowski, Chair of the CWA and an influential figure in the publishing world, also features in the collection which he described as: ‘A fascinating snapshot of some of the most exciting authors in the genre at work today.’

Other featured authors are: Abi Silver, Alison Joseph, Antony M. Brown, Art Taylor, Brian Price, Cath Staincliffe, Chris Simms, Christine Poulson, David Stuart Davies, Dea Parkin, Jason Monaghan, Kate Ellis, L.C. Tyler, Leo McNeir, Neil Daws, Paul Charles, Paul Gitsham, Ragnar Jónasson, Shawn Reilly Simmons and Vaseem Khan.

Music of the Night, edited by Martin Edwards and published by Flame Tree Press, is out now. Buy in bookshops or online: CWA members receive a generous discount when ordering direct from Flame Tree; if you’re a member contact the CWA for the code.

Go back to Blog

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.