The Crime Readers' Association

The CWA Daggers

10th July 2013

As you will have seen the Crime Writers’ Association, the sister organisation of the CRA, is gearing up for our annual Dagger Awards ceremony on Monday 15th July.

It is a very exciting time of the year for us but also for the agents and publishers who will find out on Monday what authors have won.

A few of you have commented and wanted to know some more details about the Daggers – so here you go…..

The Daggers awarded will be the Short Story, Non-Fiction, International, Historical, Dagger in the Library and the Debut Dagger. We will also be announcing the long lists for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel, the Gold Dagger and the John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger.

The CWA Dagger awards are the oldest, most prestigious and coveted crime writing awards in the literary world. Winning one has launched the career of many writers, including Ian Rankin, and past recipients of awards have included many household names of thriller and crime-writing, from Ruth Rendell, to Ellis Peters, from John le Carré to Frederick Forsyth.

Crime fiction is the most popular genre of all fiction writing and the CWA is so proud to have a part in promoting this.

A little side project of the CRA at the moment is to collect as many pictures from past Dagger Award ceremonies as we can – including the presentation of our Diamond Dagger.

I have been adding these to Pinterest (there are also related CWA boards) so if you do happen to have any related material please do get pinning.

Hope you enjoy the images and check back next week to find out who has won! For those who really can’t wait winners will be announced on the Crime Writers’ Association website at 11pm on Monday

Lucy Santos, CWA Director

Photos Click thumbnails to enlarge

  • 1990 Dagger Awards, Peter Lovesey
  • Ruth Dudley Edwards, 2010

Go back to Blog

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.