The Crime Readers' Association

CWA Dagger in the Library

11th May 2015

Eleven authors have been longlisted for the CWA 2015 Dagger in the Library award, thanks to your votes.

The longlist was compiled by YOU right and we’re thrilled that so many of you stopped by to vote for your three favourite authors.

The response from YOU was staggering. With 2,844 people voting for 636 different authors, the longlist highlights the extraordinary quality and variety in crime writing. Unlike most other literary prizes, the Dagger in the Library honours an author’s whole body of work to date, rather than a single title.

The CWA Dagger in the Library longlist 2015 (in alphabetical order):

Mark Billingham (Little Brown)
Ann Cleeves (Macmillan)
Christopher Fowler (Transworld Publishers)
Elly Griffiths (Quercus)
Elizabeth Haynes (Sphere)
Susan Hill (Vintage)
Peter James (Macmillan)
Simon Kernick (Cornerstone)
Peter May (Quercus)
Phil Rickman (Atlantic Books)
Tim Weaver (Michael Joseph)

The shortlist will be decided by a panel of judges including previous winner Sharon Bolton, CWA Director Lucy Santos, and a group of UK librarians and will be revealed on Monday 8th June with the winner being announced at the CWA Annual Awards dinner on 30th June.

So there it is, eleven authors who consistently author books that you love. Is your favourite on the list? Let us know in the comments on our page.

Go back to Blog

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.