The Crime Readers' Association

Andrew Taylor

Since my first novel, Caroline Minuscule (1982) I’ve written nearly 50 more, mainly for adults but a few for children. They include the Dougal Series; espionage thrillers; the Lydmouth novels (set in the 1950s); the Roth Trilogy (filmed for TV as Fallen Angel); The American Boy (a Richard & Judy bookclub choice about the boyhood of Edgar Allan Poe); historical crime novels including Bleeding Heart Square and The Scent of Death); and, most recently, the Marwood and Lovett series set in Restoration London, which began with The Ashes of London. My most recent novel, the fifth in this series, is The Royal Secret (April 2021).

I review for The Times and the Spectator (I was the Spectator‘s crime fiction critic for ten years). I inaugurated CWA New Writing Competition, which became the CWA Debut Dagger, in 1998). I’ve also edited The Author, the journal of the Society of Authors, and written its regular Grub Street column since 2004.

Other Awards

The CWA Red Herring (1999)

The Audie (Literary Fiction category) for An Unpardonable Crime, the US title of The American Boy (2005)

Martin Beck Award (Sweden) for Bleeding Heart Square (2009)

The Gold Crown Award of the Historical Writers Association for best historical novel of the year for The King’s Evil (2020)

Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.