The Crime Readers' Association

Laraine Stephens

Sub-genre: , ,

After nearly forty years of working as a teacher-librarian and Head of Library, Laraine Stephens decided to experience life on the other side of the bookshelves and became a writer of historical crime fiction. Her debut novel, The Death Mask Murders, the first in the Reggie da Costa Mysteries, was published in 2021 by Level Best Books. It is set in Melbourne, Australia during the dying days of The Great War. Deadly Intent, the second in the series, hit the bookstores in 2022, followed by A Deadly Game this year. Laraine has signed another three-book contract with Level Best Books.

Authenticity is very important to Laraine. It isn’t easy to shrug off nearly forty years of teacher-librarianship! By taking on a new career, as a writer of historical crime fiction, it was in her DNA to be as authentic as she could in giving an accurate setting to The Death Mask Murders. Her interest in crime and punishment comes from being a teacher for nearly 40 years!

Apart from writing, she enjoys golf, Mahjong and travelling to exotic places.

Laraine lives in Beaumaris, a bayside suburb of Melbourne, Australia, with her husband, Bob, and her maladjusted red toy poodle, Zoe.

Books by Laraine Stephens

  • A Deadly Game A Deadly Game


  • The Death Mask Murders The Death Mask Murders


Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.