The Crime Readers' Association

Barbara Nadel


Barbara Nadel is the author of the Cetin Ikmen series of crime fiction novels, set in modern Turkey. She also writes the Hakim and Arnold series which is set in the East End of London. Her historical Francis Hancock series is also set in East London takes place during World War 2. An enthusiastic traveller, Barbara has a degree in psychology and worked for many years in mental health services before becoming a full-time writer. She is owned by a Siamese cat.

Other Awards

Swedish Flintaxe for ‘Last Rights’ 2006

London Borough of Redbridge Book of the Year for ‘Ashes to Ashes’ 2008

London Borough of Redbridge Book of the Year for ‘Sure and Certain Death’ 2010

Derringer finalist 2013 for short story ‘Nain Rouge’

Books by Barbara Nadel

  • Deep Waters
  • Enough Rope
  • Poisoned Ground
  • Sure and Certain Death
  • An Act of Kindness
  • Bright Shiny Things
  • A Private Business
  • Dance with Death
  • Pretty Dead Things
  • A Passion for Killing
  • Last Rights
  • Ashes to Ashes
  • Body Count
  • Land of the Blind
  • Deadline
  • The House of Four
  • After the Mourning
  • Death by Design
  • A Noble Killing
  • On the Bone
  • River of the Dead
  • Arabesk
  • Deadly Web
  • Harem
  • Petrified
  • A Chemical Prison
  • Belshazzar’s Daughter

Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.