The Crime Readers' Association

Vera Morris

Vera Morris’s third crime novel. The Loophole, was released in May, 2019. This is the latest in The Anglian Detective Agency Series, set in the 1970s, published by Accent Press.

After research Vera went into teaching, and was a headteacher of a mixed, 11-16 comprehensive school in Oxfordshire, when she retired.

She became addicted to reading crime when as a young woman, she hitch-hiked to Spain, ended up in a small coastal town and the only books in English were by Agatha Christie.

Although a scientist, her love of reading fiction, made her, on retirement, decide to try her hand at creative writing. After exploring different genres, she decided she wanted to write crime.

Vera wanted to write the kind of crime novel s she enjoyed reading. She set the series where she’d spent her childhood: the Suffolk coast. She also wanted to have a team of strong and diverse characters, who readers would relate to; so the first novel, Some Particular Evil, concludes with the formation of the agency, with its two main detectives, Laurel Bowman and Frank Diamond and three other people: a retired detective sergeant, a school secretary and a cook.

One of the joys of having to have a profile on social media is Vera has been reunited with many of her pupils, and at the launch of The Loophole, many former teachers and students helped her to celebrate the publication of her third book.


Books by Vera Morris

  • The Temptation The Temptation

    Hive Amazon

  • The Loophole The Loophole

    Hive Amazon

  • Some Particular Evil Some Particular Evil

    Hive Amazon

Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.