The Crime Readers' Association

Andrew Hook


Andrew Hook is the author of four crime novels featuring Mordent, an irascible, anachronistic PI who views the world through noir-tinted glasses. These are “The Immortalists”, “Church of Wire”, “People I Know Are Dead” and “The Happy Finish”. A small collection of short stories, “Dead Time”, also featuring Mordent, is available.

The first two novels were originally published by Telos in 2014/15, but in October 2021 they were revised and republished alongside his other novels by Head Shot Press (

His short crime fiction has also appeared in Needle magazine, CrimeSpree and Crimewave. His short story chapbook based on the death of Marilyn Monroe, titled “The Girl With The Horizontal Walk” (Salò Press, 2019) was reprinted in Best British Short Stories 2020 (Salt Publishing).

Books by Andrew Hook

  • Dead Time Dead Time


  • People I Know Are Dead People I Know Are Dead


  • The Happy Finish The Happy Finish


  • Church of Wire Church of Wire


  • The Immortalists The Immortalists


  • The Forest of Dead Children The Forest of Dead Children


  • The Girl With The Horizontal Walk The Girl With The Horizontal Walk


Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.