The Crime Readers' Association

Jennie Finch

I have just completed a set of four crime novels set in Somerset during the 1980s.

Featuring probation officer Alex Hastings, these books draw on some of the experiences of living in Somerset for five years and they explore the unique landscape of the Somerset Levels.

The first in the series, “Death of the Elver Man” was shortlisted for the Impress Prize in 2010 and published by Impress Books in 2011, their first foray into crime fiction. They had since published the next two in the series, “The Drowners” (2013) and “The Moth Man” (2014). The final part of the series, “Smoke and Adders” is due out in September 2016.

Focusing on different aspects of criminal behaviour, the books can be read in isolation but together they also tell one story of the 1980s, the Thatcher years and how some people tried to cope with life in that turbulent era.

The series can be ordered from any good bookshop or purchased on line in either paperback or e-book format.

Other Awards

2010 : 2nd – Lit Award of the Ruhr

2010 : Shortlisted for the Impress Prize for new novelists.

Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.