The Crime Readers' Association

Lynn Brittney


Lynn has been a writer for many, many years. First as a trade magazine journalist for Morgan Grampian, then as editor of several niche magazines, such as Archery International, before finally moving into freelance work. Her first books were non-fiction, for both adults and children. She was commissioned by Which Books? Running Press, The Institute of Directors and many other publishing houses to put together books on such diverse topics as The Holy Land, Intelligent Manufacturing, The Which Guide to Working from Home and many more bizarre yet popular library books, judging by her PLR statements.

Lynn’s ‘thing’ is research. She loves it. In fact, Lynn spends her life reading non-fiction books, going to research libraries, lectures and discussions – just for the hell of it. Now this may conjure up a picture of some terrible swot, but Lynn is anything but that. Take her love of Renaissance weaponry, for example, which she incorporated into her first trilogy of books – the Nathan Fox adventures. A mixture of Elizabethan spy thrillers with a touch of Shakespeare and social history, the books were aimed at young adults but ended up being beloved by adults who like a bit of swashbuckling! Her proudest moment was when the Association of Renaissance Martial Arts published a review praising her accurate weapons research. Oh, and the fact that the first book, Nathan Fox: Dangerous Times, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Book Prize and the Brandford Boase Award in 2007/8.

Lynn was also a drama teacher and so she started writing plays for children, teenagers and experienced amateur actors, which have been published by Samuel French, Playstage Junior, Playstage YA and Playstage Senior and, to date, have been performed in 42 countries around the world.

In 2016/7 Lynn decided to make use of some more of her passionate research by starting a series of crime novels, the Mayfair 100 series, and the first book was published by Mirror Books in 2018 – A Murder in Belgravia. This was followed by the second book in the series, A Death in Chelsea, which was published again by Mirror Books in March 2019. A third book is in the pipeline.

Set during World War One, the Mayfair 100 books are about a secret team of women detectives, put together by Chief Inspector Beech, invalided out of the War early. London has changed, due in no small part to the massive influx of women replacing men in the workplace. Beech feels that this requires a new type of policing, but the Home Office and the Metropolitan Police are implacably opposed to women serving as professional police officers, let alone as detectives. Beech gets permission to set up a clandestine team of women, assisted by himself, a young constable and a retired detective. Together, they set out to solve the cases that require special attention, starting with the unpleasant murder of Lord Murcheson in A Murder in Belgravia.

Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.