The Crime Readers' Association

Jane Bettany

Sub-genre: , , , , ,

Jane Bettany is the author of the DI Isabel Blood crime series. The first novel in the series, In Cold Blood, was published by HQ (Harper Collins) in 2020. Further titles in the series are Without a Trace (2021) and Last Seen Alive (2022). The books are set in Derbyshire in the fictional town of Bainbridge.

Jane is also the author of a cosy crime series featuring amateur sleuth Violet Brewster. The first in the series, Murder in Merrywell, was published by HQ (HarperCollins) in April 2023, followed by Murder at the Book Festival in January 2024. The third book in the series, Murder at Maple Grange, will be published in the summer of 2024.

In 2019, Jane won the Gransnet and HQ writing competition, which was for women writers over the age of 40 who had written a novel with a protagonist in the same age range. The competition was launched in response to a survey of women over 40, conducted by Gransnet and HQ. The survey showed that almost half of the women taking part felt there weren’t enough books featuring middle-aged or older women as lead characters.

Jane lives in Derby.


Other Awards

Winner of the Gransnet HQ Novel Writing Competition in 2019

Books by Jane Bettany

  • Murder at Maple Grange Murder at Maple Grange


  • Murder at the Book Festival Murder at the Book Festival

    Hive Amazon

  • Murder in Merrywell Murder in Merrywell

    Hive Amazon

  • Last Seen Alive Last Seen Alive

    Hive Amazon

  • In Cold Blood In Cold Blood

    Hive Amazon

Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.