The Crime Readers' Association

Edie Baylis

Sub-genre: , , , , ,

Edie Baylis is originally from the West Midlands and spent many years working as a freelance consultant for some of the biggest companies in the UK as well as abroad. During one of many stints working away in 2016, she spent her evenings after work in a hotel room writing her first novel. Since then, she has written and published many books.

In 2019, she made the decision to pursue her writing full time and has now settled in Worcestershire with her husband and children.

Edie writes gritty gangland fiction, using a combination of crime, suspense and romance. In  2021 she signed a 5-book deal for a gangland series with Boldwood Books.

Her latest series, Allegiance, is gritty gangland, set in Birmingham in the mid 90s. The first book, Takeover, centres around a woman, who through unexpected circumstances, finds herself dealing with the dangerous and dark underworld. The second book of this series,  Fallout, is the second in the series, released in May and the third, Vendetta, will be released in September 2022.

Edie’s other series are: Retribution, Hunted and Downfall.

The Retribution series includes the books, An Old Score, Finders Keepers and The Final Take. Set in the mid 00s, this gangland series of greed, betrayal and loyalty also has a romantic side.

The Hunted series, set in the mid 90s, includes The Status Debt, The Family Legacy and The Target of Lies. This gritty, steamy gangland trilogy of opposing sides in class and morals, explores both betrayal and love in unexpected places.

The Downfall Series is not for the fainthearted. Set in the mid 90s, this trilogy includes Until the End of Time, Escaping the Past and Vengeful Payback. This gangland series of obsession and vigilante justice is  off-beat, contains extreme violence and controversial themes.

When she isn’t writing, Edie enjoys reading and is a self-confessed book hoarder. She also enjoys crochet, music and motorbikes, as well as loving anything quirky or unusual.

Other Awards


Books by Edie Baylis

  • The Family Legacy The Family Legacy


  • The Target of Lies The Target of Lies


  • The Status Debt The Status Debt


  • Fallout (Allegiance #2) Fallout (Allegiance #2)


  • The Downfall Series Boxset (Books 1-3) The Downfall Series Boxset (Books 1-3)


  • The Hunted Series Box Set (Books 1-3) The Hunted Series Box Set (Books 1-3)


  • An Old Score An Old Score


  • The Final Take The Final Take


  • Finders Keepers Finders Keepers


  • Takeover Takeover


  • Until the End of Time Until the End of Time


  • Escaping the Past Escaping the Past


  • Vengeful Payback Vengeful Payback


Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.