The Crime Readers' Association

Tony Bassett

Sub-genre: , , , , ,

Tony Bassett is a former journalist who worked on regional and national newspapers in Britain for more than 40 years. He mainly reported on crime, show business, human interest and consumer topics. Now retired, he writes crime fiction.
Tony is best known for his series of novels set in the West Midlands featuring Detective Chief Inspector Gavin Roscoe, an experienced detective and family man, and his sergeant, law graduate and resourceful problem-solver Sunita Roy.
His latest book in the Detectives Roy and Roscoe series, HEIR TO MURDER, concerns a peer of the realm’s son found axed to death after a row over loud music. Two years earlier, his older brother mysteriously disappeared while hiking in Spain.
HEIR TO MURDER is the FIFTH book in the series, all released by The Book Folks, an independent London publisher specialising in crime fiction.
Other books in the series (in order) are: MURDER ON OXFORD LANE; THE CROSSBOW STALKER; MURDER OF A DOCTOR; and OUT FOR REVENGE. A collection of the first three books was published in May 2024 under the title THE MIDLANDS MURDERS: Detectives Roy & Roscoe box set (Books 1 – 3)

Tony’s stand-alone thriller SEAT 97, about a man shot dead at a London concert hall, has also been published by The Book Folks while two further works (the crime novel Smile Of The Stowaway and the spy novel The Lazarus Charter) were published by The Conrad Press.
Tony first developed a love of writing at the age of nine when he produced a junior school magazine. A few years later, his local vicar in Tunbridge Wells staged his play about Naboth’s Vineyard.
At Hull University, Tony was judged Time-Life Magazine student journalist of the year in 1971.
Tony, who has five grown-up children, is a Life Member of the National Union of Journalists. He lives in South-East London with his partner Lin.

Other Awards

Time/Life Student Journalist of the Year 1971

Books by Tony Bassett

  • The Midlands Murders: Detectives Roy & Roscoe box set (Books 1 – 3) The Midlands Murders: Detectives Roy & Roscoe box set (Books 1 – 3)


  • Heir To Murder Heir To Murder
  • Seat 97 Seat 97


  • The Lazarus Charter The Lazarus Charter


  • Murder On Oxford Lane Murder On Oxford Lane


  • The Crossbow Stalker The Crossbow Stalker


  • Murder Of A Doctor Murder Of A Doctor


  • Out For Revenge Out For Revenge


  • Smile Of The Stowaway Smile Of The Stowaway


Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.