The Crime Readers' Association

Stephen Timmins

Sub-genre: , , , , , , , ,

Stephen Timmins spent far too long of his ‘adult’ life ducking–and–diving in the insanity that is TV production. Born in Purley, Surrey, he moved upwards to Sanderstead and finally to peaceful pastures of the village of Warlingham. Early in his adult life he escaped from Surrey’s verdant hills and now lives ten miles south of Bristol in a village in North Somerset which has an excellent pub.

He has been a fan of John Buchan’s Richard Hannay stories since childhood and often wondered what would have happened to Hannay’s descendants. Ten years ago he stopped wondering and started writing the books that tell the story of Richard Hannay’s grandson, John – a loner, strong, brilliant, tenacious and damaged, still haunted by the wreckage of his childhood. But he’s the only man who can halt a crime intended to wreak havoc on the British economy. The first three books of The Fortieth Step series have been published by Diamond Books Ltd.

Yet to be published is the Stanwood House trilogy which tells the story of Flora Smythe and her battle against her drunken, criminal half-brother, who wishes only to destroy her and claim her inheritance. The books begin in the late 19th century, take the reader through the vicissitudes off World War One and continue to the outbreak of World War Two.



Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.