The Crime Readers' Association

Diane Janes



As well as being the author of nine crime novels, Diane Janes has also written four factual books, examining real life British murders which occurred in the first half of the twentieth century, and contributed to the CWA anthology Truly Criminal. Her work has been translated into German and Japanese, and she has been shortlisted for both the Debut Dagger and the John Creasey New Blood Dagger. In 2012 she was awarded a Red Herring by the CWA.

She has been seen on ITV’s A-Z of Crime and appeared regularly as an expert contributor on BBC’s Murder, Mystery & My Family.

Originally from Birmingham, she has also lived on Teesside, in Lancashire and the Lake District, and is currently domiciled in Devon. When not researching, writing on, or lecturing about the darker side of life and death, she enjoys reading, watching tennis, and traveling.


Other Awards

Red Herring in 2012

Books by Diane Janes

  • Edwardian Murder: Ightham & the Morpeth Train Robbery
  • Poisonous Lies: The Croydon Arsenic Mystery
  • The Pull of the Moon
  • Why Don't You Come For Me?
  • The Case of the Poisoned Partridge
  • Swimming in the Shadows
  • Stick or Twist
  • Death at Wolf's Nick: The Killing of Evelyn Foster
  • The Magic Chair Murder
  • The Poisoned Chalice Murder
  • A Stroke of Bad Luck
  • The Skeleton Tree

Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.