The Crime Readers' Association

Kate Evans

Sub-genre: , ,

Kate Evans is a writer of fiction, non-fiction and poetry. Her novel, A Wake of Crows, was published by Constable/Little Brown in June 2021. It is the first in a series – the DC Donna Morris mysteries – crime novels based in Scarborough, North Yorkshire. Book two, Drowning Not Waving, was published in hardback and ebook in June 2022. No Justice is due out in 2023.


Previously she has had non-fiction articles and poetry published. Her book, Pathways Through Writing Blocks in the Academic Environment, was published by Sense Publishers in 2013. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Sussex University. She is trained as a psychotherapeutic counsellor. For ten years she coordinated and taught on the BA in Creative Writing, University of Hull, Scarborough campus. These days, she runs workshops and mentors in creative writing and creative writing for wellbeing.


Brought up in Durham, she has lived in London, France and the US. She chose to settle in Scarborough in 2003. She loves being out in nature, walking or cycling, and is an open water swimmer, braving the sea off Scarborough all year round.

Books by Kate Evans

  • Drowning Not Waving Drowning Not Waving
  • No Justice
  • A Wake of Crows A Wake of Crows

Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.