The Crime Readers' Association

Alice K Boatwright

Sub-genre: , ,

Alice K. Boatwright is the author of the award-winning Ellie Kent mysteries. The first books, UNDER AN ENGLISH HEAVEN, won the 2016 Mystery and Mayhem Grand Prize for best mystery; and it has been followed by WHAT CHILD IS THIS? (2017) and IN THE LIFE EVER AFTER (2024). In this series, life brings the skeptical American Ellie Kent to an English village as the vicar’s new wife, but death keeps her guessing how long she will be there. M.C. Beaton said: “Not only is Alice Boatwright a good detective writer, but a first-class storyteller as well.” Alice has also published fiction in other genres, including COLLATERAL DAMAGE; SEA, SKY, ISLANDS; and MRS. POTTS FINDS THANKSGIVING.

Alice has taught writing at UC Berkeley Extension, the University of New Hampshire, and the American School of Paris. After 10 years of living in a village in Oxfordshire and Paris, she now makes her home in the U.S.’s Pacific Northwest. She is the convenor for the Crime Writers Association’s North America chapter.

Other Awards

2016 British/Classic Cozy Blue Ribbon, Chanticleer International Book Awards

2016 Mystery and Mayhem Grand Prize for Best Mystery

2013 Bronze medal for literary fiction, Independent Book Publishers Association Awards

Books by Alice K Boatwright

  • In the Life Ever After In the Life Ever After


  • Under an English Heaven Under an English Heaven


  • What Child Is This? What Child Is This?


Find another author

Filter by:

Join the CRA

Joining the CRA is FREE. There are no lengthy forms to fill out and we need nothing but your email. You will receive a regular newsletter but no spam.